PRESENTATION OF TROPHIES

PIANO TROPHIES

BEST CONCERTO

Evelyn Green Trophy 12 years and under IMAN BULBULIA

Betty Shein Trophy 16 years and under KATE WATSON

BEST RECITAL

| 9 vears and under | EVGENIA MARTALAS |
|---------------------|------------------|
| 3 Veals allu ulluel | EVGENIA WARTALAS |

Cecilia Yutar Trophy 10 years and under NSIKA DLAMINI

Juliette Nehama Trophy 12 years and under ADAM JACOBSON

Lynn Markman Trophy 14 years and under ANDREW RANEY

Ruth Shenker Trophy 16 years and under PANO POUROULLIS

MOST PROMISING PIANIST

NB To be eligible for the following Trophies, participants must enter a minimum of 4 sections, one of which *must be S A Composers*

| Van Zyl Trophy | 8 years and under | MAJA SNYMAN |
|---------------------|--------------------|---------------------|
| SASMT Trophy | 9 years and under | SAMUEL HERTZ |
| Lorna Heher Trophy | 10 years and under | PRIYAL NAIDOO |
| Estelle Sher Trophy | 11 years and under | ERIN DANIELS |

Beverly Green Trophy for the most promising pianist 16 years and under (all ages) TIENKIE VILJOEN

Gertrude Plaut Junior Trophy for the most promising all round performer CHRISTINE VOS

STRING TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING STRING PLAYER

Lee Marais Trophy 6 years and under JULIAN NEL

Violin Academy Trophy 8 years and under KABIR BUDLENDER

SA Suzuki Association Trophy 10 years and under ALLEGRA BIERMAN

SASMT Trophy 12 years and under PENDO MASOTE

Festival Trophy 14 years and under ZANDI VILJOEN

Nicolette Solomon Trophy 16 years and under SAMANTHA BALL

Festival Junior Trophy

Best performance of a Concerto DANIELLE VAN DER WATT

RECORDER TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING RECORDER PLAYER

Tiensie Lategan Trophy

10 years and under

AMELIE NIEWOUDT

12 years and under

CHARLE MOOLMAN

Ann Carroll Trophy

14 years and under

Botha Family Trophy

16 years and under

CAREN PRETORIUS

Festival Trophy

Open

ALTHEA STEYNBERG

BEST CONCERTO

Rupert Mayr Trophy All ages HEIN GERTENBACH

WIND TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING WIND PLAYER

Diane Heller Trophy Junior KAGO MASOTE / RYAN SOOKU

Merryl Neille Trophy Senior LIESEL ROUX

Kasia McNaught Trophy Flautist ALTHEA STEYNBERG

BEST RECITAL

Etresia Labuschagne Trophy All Ages ALTHEA STEYNBERG

SINGING TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING SINGER

Eugenie Chopin Trophy Female DOMINIQUE DEYSEL
Festival Trophy 18 years and under EMILY MAY TUSON

HARP TROPHY

Harp Society of S A Trophy Most promising harpist VIVIENNE JANSE VAN
RENSBURG

SPECIAL TROPHIES

Esther Reinders Trophy Best Ensemble JOHANNESBURG

WIND BAND

Johannesburg Festival Trophy Best Choir ST. TERESE'S MERCY

HIGH SCHOOL

Johanna van der Spuy Trophy Best Performance CHAEL KISTIAH

of a Baroque Piece

Peggy Haddon Trophy Most Memorable Performance BIANCA VAN WIDDERN

of a Classical Piece for Piano

Ewa Chojnacki Trophy Best Performance of a Piece MARGOT VILJOEN

by Chopin

Alice Janes Memorial Trophy Best Performance of an SIMON DU TOIT

Impressionist Piece

Ruth Mack Trophy Best Performance of a Piece SIMON DU TOIT

by a South African Composer

Gideon Roos Trophy Most Outstanding Performance NICOLE GABER

Etresia Labuschagne Trophy Quick Study KENSUKE KAWAJIRI

SAMRO Trophy Best performance of an Orchestral

Instrument JONATHAN MAYER

Albert Honey Trophy Commitment to Music – CHRISTINE VOS

Any Age, Any Instrument

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Festival Committee wishes to express its warm and sincere appreciation to:

The University of the Witwatersrand's Facilities Department for its co-operation, and Anton van Eeden for always being available to help and advise.

The Head of Music Education, Alta van As, and the Head of the Symphonic School, Susan Rendall for allowing us to use the Derrick Lewis Room and lecture rooms in the Wozani Block

The SAMRO Endowment for the National Arts for its interest and financial support