PRESENTATION OF TROPHIES

PIANO TROPHIES

BEST CONCERTO

Maisie Flink Trophy	10 years and under	EVGENIA MARTALAS
Evelyn Green Trophy	12 years and under	ERIN DANIELS
Maisie Stein Trophy	14 years and under	IMAN BULBULIA
Betty Shein Trophy	16 years and under	COLETTE DU TOIT

BEST RECITAL

Cecilia Yutar Trophy	10 years and under	TANYZA ZHU & YU QING PENG
Juliette Nehama Trophy	12 years and under	SHAYLAN BHUNDIA
Lynn Markman Trophy	14 years and under	THIVINA JAYASURIYA
Ruth Shenker Trophy	16 years and under	JIMMY QUI

MOST PROMISING PIANIST

NB To be eligible for the following Trophies, participants must enter a minimum of 4 sections, one of which *must be S A Composers*

Van Zyl Trophy	8 years and under	YU QING PENG
Lorna Heher Trophy	10 years and under	SAMUEL HERTZ
Estelle Sher Trophy	11 years and under	MARISA STEYNBERG
Lamar Crowson Trophy	12 years and under	ERIN DANIELS
S.A.S.M.T. Trophy	14 years and under	NAO MATSUSHITA

Beverly Green Trophy for the most promising pianist 16 years and under HAMMOND SAMBA

Unisa Piano Prize Grade 7 RENATE JANSE VAN RENSBURG

STRING TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING STRING PLAYER

Lee Marais Trophy 6 years and under BIANKE VAN STADEN

Violin Academy Trophy 8 years and under JULIAN NEL

SA Suzuki Association Trophy 10 years and under CATIA SNYMAN

SASMT Trophy 12 years and under GILAH KELLNER

Festival Trophy 14 years and under THYS STEYNBERG

SAMRO Trophy Junior String Player GILAH KELLNER & PENDO MASOTE

Festival Junior Trophy

Best performance of a Concerto GILAH KELLNER

Diana Neille Trophy

Best performance of a Recital GILAH KELLNER & PENDO

MASOTE

RECORDER TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING RECORDER PLAYER

Tiensie Lategan Trophy10 years and underHEIN GERTENBACHFestival Trophy12 years and underAMELIE NIEWOUDTBotha Family Trophy16 years and underALTHEA STEYNBERGAnne Carroll Trophy18 years and underCAREN PRETORIUS

BEST CONCERTO

Rupert Mayr Trophy All ages AMELIE NIEUWOUDT

WIND TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING WIND PLAYER

Diane Heller TrophyJuniorSAMEUL KELLNERMerryl Neille TrophySeniorALTHEA STEYNBERGKasia McNaught TrophyFlautistALTHEA STEYNBERG

BEST RECITAL

Etresia Labuschagne Trophy

SAMUEL KELLNER & ALTHEA STEYNBERG

SINGING TROPHIES

MOST PROMISING SINGER

Eugenie Chopin Trophy Male BUDDY SACKS

Eugenie Chopin Trophy Female LYDIA NICOLE PIETERSE

Festival Trophy 18 years and under GENEVIEVE TUSON, KATHELO POBE,

MIYA ITCHIKOWITZ

Yvette Elliot Trophy Best performance of an Opera Aria LYDIA NICOLE PIETERSE

SPECIAL TROPHIES

Evelyn Green Trophy Best Chamber Music Performance JINWEI & JINTAO HUANG

CAREN PRETORIUS & ALTHEA STEYNBERG

Esther Reinders Trophy Best Ensemble JOHANNESBURG

WIND BAND

Johannesburg Festival Trophy Best Choir ASSUMPTION CONVENT HIGH SCHOOL

Johanna van der Spuy Trophy Best Performance SIBA DLAMINI

of a Baroque Piece

Peggy Haddon Trophy Most Memorable Performance BENJAMIN VALKIN

of a Classical Piece for Piano

Ewa Chojnacki Trophy Best Performance of a Piece COLETTE DU TOIT

by Chopin

Alice Janes Memorial Trophy Best Performance of an NAO MATSUSHITA

Impressionist Piece

SAMRO Trophy Best performance of a piece by **DANIEL SPIES &**

A South African Composer – YU QING PENG

Junior

Festival Trophy Best Performance of a Piece PENDO MASOTE &

by a South African Composer NAO MATSUSHITA

- Intermediate

Ruth Mack Trophy Best Performance of a Piece ALTHEA STEYNBERG

by a South African Composer - Senior

Gideon Roos Trophy Most Outstanding Performance NAO MATSUSHITA

Etresia Labuschagne Trophy Quick Study SAMUEL KELLNER

SAMRO Trophy Best performance of an Orchestral

Instrument ALTHEA STEYNBERG

Albert Honey Trophy Commitment to Music – KELLNER FAMILY

Any Age, Any Instrument

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Festival Committee wishes to express its warm and sincere appreciation to:

The University of the Witwatersrand's Facilities Department for its co-operation, and Anton van Eeden for always being available to help and advise.

The Head of Music Education, Alta van As, and the Head of the Symphonic School, Susan Rendall for allowing us to use the Derrick Lewis Room and lecture rooms in the Wozani Block

The SAMRO Endowment for the National Arts for its interest and financial support